Never Fail Baked Custard

Today was a day I have imagined for many years.

When I was a child my Aunt Mary lived just up the hill from us. She still cooked on a wood burning stove and almost always was making or had just made custard to use up the many eggs their chickens produced daily. The smell was heavenly! I always wished I had asked for the recipe before she died, but I later found this recipe in an old 1975 church compilation recipe book that tastes much how I remember her custard tasting.

During a time in my single years that I lived alone I could never use up a gallon of milk before it would turn, so every Saturday morning I would make custard that would bake as I did laundry and other chores, beautifully steaming up the kitchen windows and making my apartment smell like Aunt Mary’s kitchen. And I dreamed of the day that I would have little ones for whom to make custard.

Along came Eli, with his milk allergy in tow. I have thought for a while of making the custard with goat’s milk, but he really dislikes eggs and I don’t like goat’s milk so I was afraid it would go to waste. But today it is raining and chilly… a perfect day for custard, so I decided to make half a recipe.

There are only four ingredients: sugar, eggs, milk and salt.

The most time consuming part is to scald the milk first. This is difficult for me as I tend to get distracted and then it boild over. Thankfully that didn’t happen today.

Slowly mix the hot milk into the egg mixture a little at a time so that the eggs don’t cook with the addition of the hot milk.

Bake in a bain marie for about 40 minutes.

Will he like it?

Yes! And actually I do too. The goaty flavor of the milk is quite tamed by the addition of the other ingredients.

Fall is now truely here. Let there be custard!

3 Comments

  1. Jen Sellers said,

    October 6, 2011 at 3:05 am

    YUM!

  2. Jacki Sellers said,

    October 6, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Eli’s face says it all!! Maybe I better walk over and get a taste before it is all gone?!

  3. October 6, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Still some left. Come on over!


Leave a Reply

