Handmade Bird Ornament 2012

A bird in the hand…

‘Tis the season to begin making Christmas tree ornaments once again! Long time readers might remember last year’s fiasco with shrinking a favorite woolen blanket and the resulting Christmas stocking I then made from it. Well, for this bird I used some of the scraps left over from that project. I like that it came out rather folksy looking.

I don’t have a step by step photo tutorial of this one but it is really simple to make. On last year’s Love Birds Wreath Tutorial post I showed briefly how to make a slightly similar bird and there is a link to a bird pattern you can use if you don’t want to sketch out your own.

Just draw out a basic bird body shape on paper and use it for your pattern. Cut out two, sew them almost all the way around, leaving yourself room to turn inside out and fill with stuffing. Finish sewing the body together.

Cut out two wing shapes that go well with the size of the body you just made and blanket stitch around them. (If you are unsure how to blanket stitch I saw a very clear step by step tutorial here.) As this was made from a felted blanket each wing is one layer only… if you are using fabric you will want to use two layers and follow the same process as for the body but don’t stuff them very full at all.

…and one in the bush.

Embellish as your sense of whimsy directs. I added a fabric beak (also blanket stitched), knotted embroidery thread for the tail and for the eyed I used a thin shell bead from a broken necklace with a smaller bead on top.

String some beads together, find the balance point you like the look of best along the back and attach in a loop for hanging. I wanted this bird to look like it was taking off in flight so I hung it so that the head would be higher than the tail.

Hang it up, stand back and enjoy! This little guy will likely be given away for our church women’s ornament exchange (Shhh! But really I don’t think anyone from that group visits my blog ;-) ) but we’ll see what else I happen to create between now and then.

Here are some of the ornaments I posted about last year:

Commemorative Ornaments

Handmade Scrappy Folk Angel

Salt Dough Ornaments

Snowman Ornament From Lightbulb

Handmade Red Angel Christmas Ornament

Related articles

Here’s where I’m linking up:

Christmas Craft Linky Party, Tea Rose Home,

Sunday:

I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

jembellish clothes upcycling page, Blissful and Domestic,

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little Birds,  C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Sarahndipities The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

Not Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s Korner, Home Stories A to Z, Tell Me Tuesday, Crafty Confessions,

Homemade Tuesday, Tuesday To Do, Today’s Assignment,

Antiprocrastination Tuesday, Take-a-Look Tuesday,  Nifty Thrifty Tuesday,

The Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and SchwinHeart and Soul Blog Hop

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally Sustainable,  Lil’ LunaSomeday CraftsWhimsy

WednesdayWhatcha Work Up Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Artsy Mama2805,

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

35 Comments

  1. ReStitch Me said,

    November 8, 2012 at 7:42 am

    Your little bird is so cute! I especially love the beaded hanger. The gal that receives your ornament will LOVE it!

  2. November 8, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    what a beautiful ornament.
    You really did a nice job
    T

  3. November 8, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    What a lovely project! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your comment on my blog. Have a great week!

  4. faerylandmom said,

    November 8, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    Cute!

  5. tartanpants said,

    November 8, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    Hi – many thanks for the like on my blog post! Your wee bird is just lovely – I will pass by later to have a browse around!

  6. November 9, 2012 at 4:07 am

    beautiful bird!

  7. Virginia said,

    November 9, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    I love the bird ornament!!!

  8. Nina said,

    November 9, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    So cute, Karen! You are so crafty.

  9. November 10, 2012 at 5:02 am

    [...] Handmade Bird Ornament 2012 (folkhaven.wordpress.com) [...]

  10. Caroline said,

    November 10, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Very cute!

  11. Linne said,

    November 10, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Love your ornaments, too! Great ideas!

  12. November 10, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    It is a nice bird.

  13. Ana Lopes said,

    November 10, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    So lovely!!! Love the coloursof the sweet bird! Thanks so much for sharing ! I’d love for you to visit my blog.
    Happy weekend!

    Hugs from Portugal,

    Ana Love Craft
    http://www.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

    • November 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      I stopped by the other day and will be stopping by regularly. Thank you for your visit here. I’m glad you liked my bird!

  14. November 11, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Gorgeous ornaments!
    Just stopped by to let you know that I featured your child’s yoga pants on my round tuit post this week!
    Round Tuit 127
    Thanks again for linking up! Hope you have a great week!
    Jill @ Creating my way to Success

  15. Maysem said,

    November 12, 2012 at 6:20 am

    That is one adorable ornament!! I love that it looks folksy… and something you would definitely find at a place like Anthropologie!! Love it Karen!! :D

  16. November 12, 2012 at 8:16 am

    Love your ornament. Saw it on Gunny Sack Link Party #63. I am number 73 on the list:)

  17. C.R.A.F.T. said,

    November 14, 2012 at 5:46 am

    I love it :) Thanks for linking up to M.M.M. They are selling a very similar bird ornament at target! Love that you made it!

    • November 14, 2012 at 8:43 pm

      Now I’m curious and will have to look for the bird at Target! Thank you for your sweet comment :-)

  18. November 18, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    [...] Handmade Bird Ornament 2012 (folkhaven.wordpress.com) [...]

  19. November 24, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Hi Karen…thanks so much for taking a look at my blog. I really love this Christmas bird – very creative. Diane


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers

