Flute-playing Squirrel

Going though iPhoto I found this picture I took in Vancouver almost exactly three years ago (I’m a just week off of the anniversary of our delightful encounter.) Hopefully it makes you smile as much as me!

“The flute player played songs of the forest
and songs of the sky,
songs of the meadows
and songs of the sea.
all day and all night.”

–Robyn Eversole, in The Flute Player

We are beginning to see squirrels in our neighborhood here in Southern CA this year. I love to see them foraging alongside the wild rabbits. When we moved here from the Chicago suburbs in 2005 I quickly realized squirrels were one thing I really missed. In one apartment I had in Illinois there were very wide windowsills. All winter I would put out nuts and birdseed for the squirrels. It got so that if the food wasn’t out by the time one squirrel in particular made her daily rounds, she’d knock on the window. She’d also taunt my cats by doing what I can only describe as blow-monkeys on the window. The cats were not amused. I really wish I’d taken photos!

4 Comments

  1. jensellers said,

    March 30, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Love it!!!

  2. ReStitch Me said,

    March 30, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    Cute picture! I love it when they are so chubby. :-)

  3. Maysem said,

    April 4, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    LOL! Same thing happened with my sister-in-law. She would leave food for a squirrel and the squirrel would come back every day at the same time. I was visiting her one day, and all of the sudden I see this squirrel clinging to her door staring at us..haha! That’s when she explained to me why… :D

    • April 4, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      How funny! I bet it made you jump! I had a friend back in college who would hand feed a squirrel. They are nervous little critters and once it was startled just as it was taking the food and bit him right through the thumb nail. When he did the mandatory calling to report a wild animal bite the person taking the report asked him, “And how old is the child?” Silence, then he sheepishly answered, “Twenty-two.” I’ll stick to leaving the nuts and seeds out, but will keep my hands safely away!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers

