Greeting Cards with Repurposed Leather

What do you do with the leather on an old broken recliner chair?

Sometimes you sew up some  slippers. And I’m sure most of you can think of many other creative uses for recycled leather.

I had a lot of fun using it to make blank greeting cards.

The coffee and tea cards sold pretty well at a local coffee shop.

This one on the repurposed book page background may have been my favorite.

Here I experimented with painting on leather with acrylic.

The antlers are cut from the underside of the same leather.

I made many more cards than the one’s shown here and still had a lot of leather left over!

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageFun to CraftHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsA Glimpse Inside,

Between U & MeHappy Hour ProjectsAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFrench Country Cottage,

The Charm of HomeThe Grant LifeAt the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge,

Stuff and NonsenseOne Art Mama2805

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

Sunday:

LambAround,  Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo Toes,

Petite HermineMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

Monday:

{aka}/ designGet Outta My Head PleaseMad in Crafts, Skip to My Lou,

The Gunny SackSew Can Do, Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeDittle Dattle,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet homeCraft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities Just Winging ItEverything Under the Moon,

The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Sweet Peas & Bumble BeesMom On TimeoutSomeday CraftsPassionately Artistic

21 Comments

  1. ReStitch Me said,

    February 2, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Great idea, Karen!

  2. February 2, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    These are just amazing!

  3. February 2, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    [...] Greeting Cards with Repurposed Leather (folkhaven.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Adult, Children, Instructors, Printmaking, Uncategorized and tagged art, Cleveland, Cleveland Institute of Art, Greeting card, Northeast, Ohio, Ohio Arts Council, Printmaking. Bookmark the permalink. ← Sign up! — Kindermusik at BCA [...]

  4. February 3, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    these are really nice!!
    you know, i’ve been thinking about trying to sell my “coffee lover” prints at a local coffee shop but wasn’t sure how to go about doing so. your cute coffee cards and your remark that they sold well makes me wonder if you have any tips or advice for me… ?
    thanks for visiting the artsy ants hill, karen :)

    have a wonderful weekend,
    simona

    • February 3, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      For me it was just a matter of asking the owner if I could leave them in a display box on a shelf there. They kept a portion of each sale and I stopped in to collect my portion every so often. It was a very informal arrangement. They also sold things made by other people the same way. Unfortunately the business has now changed hands, so it isn’t an option for me to sell there any longer. I would suggest you just approach the owner, and if they say no go on to the next coffee shop and try again. I doubt you’d have any luck at a chain coffee shop, but the independent places often want that community feel that is enhanced by carrying the work of local artisans. Good luck with selling your prints!

      • February 4, 2012 at 11:04 am

        thanks very much for the reply! i’ll have to pump up my courage and just go in and ask. i’m such a chicken ;)

      • February 4, 2012 at 12:24 pm

        Just figure the worse thing they can say is “no”. It won’t be the end of the world if that happens. But I understand, I’m a very shy wallflower type. It took me a while to get up the gumption to ask, too. You can do it!

  5. February 6, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Those are awesome!! I’m totally impressed.

  6. Honey said,

    February 6, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    Thank you for sharing your art at Potpourri Friday!

    • February 8, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      Your welcome. Thank you for hosting a great chance for the rest of us to link up! :-)

  7. amy said,

    February 7, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Wow, those are really lovely! I’m a huge coffee fan, so those are my favorite ones. I’d love for you to share them here if you have a minute…

    http://oneartmama.blogspot.com/2012/02/shine-on-fridays-13-and-some-fabulous.html

    • February 8, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      Thanks for the invite. I’m glad you like them. I usually hit your linky party each week, but I’ll go back and see if somehow I skipped yours last week. If so I’ll link it this Friday. :-)

  8. Virginia said,

    February 7, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Very cool!!!

  9. February 9, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    Now THAT. is. creative!!!!!! I’m a card making freak so it’s so much fun to get neat ideas like this!

  10. Natasha said,

    February 10, 2012 at 11:50 am

    these are great!

    Thanks for linking up to Serenity Saturday Link Party!
    Hope you can join me again tomorrow

    Natasha xx

    http://www.serenityyou.blogspot.com

  11. six sisters said,

    February 10, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    This is wonderful!! Thanks so much for joining us on “Strut Your Stuff Saturday”. We loved having you and hope to see you back next week with more great ideas! – The Sisters

  12. February 12, 2012 at 12:52 am

    [...] Greeting Cards with Repurposed Leather (folkhaven.wordpress.com) [...]

  13. November 24, 2012 at 5:02 am

    [...] leather cards of different designs using the leather from an old broken recliner. You can see them here.) Let your imagination run wild with the shapes and symbols you might use. Leather scraps can be [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

