Eli Makes a Smoothie (or how to get spinach into a finicky toddler)

Eli is fascinated with the Magic Bullet that I use every morning to make his goat’s milk. I decided we should have a little fun making a smoothie together.

(I also wanted to see if I could get him to ingest some spinach this way. Mothers and their ulterior motives…)

Cutting up the banana.

Putting the pieces in the Magic Bullet.

Now for the spinach. {Maternal tenting of fingers}

A scoop or four of yogurt.

Letting the Magic Bullet perform it’s magic. Maybe not long enough though… between sips he picked black bean-sized pieces of spinach off his tongue to discard.

A little in his cup.

A first sip…

and a second!

He finished the first serving and asked for more. :-)

Have a great day!

Karen

11 Comments

  1. ReStitch Me said,

    January 26, 2012 at 7:42 am

    Clever Mom–getting him to eat his spinach! :-)

  2. Maysem said,

    January 26, 2012 at 7:44 am

    And how did that taste? LOL! Did you try it? ;)

    • January 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

      Actually it tastes pretty good. You don’t really taste any spinach. I also didn’t show the adding of the almond milk or Odwalla Juice as helping Eli pour didn’t leave a hand free for me to use the camera, so it wasn’t as sludgy as it perhaps sounded. I ended up drinking much more of it than Eli did. :-)

  3. January 26, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    Awesome! I used to make smoothies all the time, then I got out of the habit. I wish I could make it happen again!

    • January 26, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      Eli is so fascinated by the blending process I think I’ll be doing this more often. It’s also good practice for him drinking out of a cup as he has trouble swallowing thin liquids.

  4. January 27, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    awesome… if you are worried about him not getting his greens.. try roasting kale with salt and olive oil in the oven… my not two year old daughter will eat the kale chips like she would potato chips.
    another way to get the spinach by is to make ziti…
    great post.
    T

    • January 27, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      Thanks, T. Thanks for the suggestions! I’ve pinned the kale chips idea and have kale on my next grocery list.

      Don’t think the ziti will work for him between having to make everything dairy-free and that he picks any spinach SPECKS out of anything. I’m not sure if it is a taste or a texture thing for him.

      The smoothie worked well, I just have to blend it longer next time. I’m thinking I’m also just going to add more green veggies well blended into pasta sauce which he would probably even drink from a sippy cup if I let him.

      I just love your blog. So thoughtful and though-provoking. Reading it is one of the highlights of my day so it’s great for me that you post so often. Thanks!

  5. January 28, 2012 at 7:03 am

    Thanks for linking up to Show Your Stuff, Your invited to come back this week:

    http://juliejewels1.blogspot.com/2012/01/show-your-stuff-8.html

  6. Jill said,

    January 30, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    How cute is this!! I love how he is totally helping out! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I look forward to working with you all on the Mommy Panel at the Grant Life!

  7. Kelley said,

    February 2, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    How awesome is that! I love how sneaky that is! And Eli looks like he is having so much fun :) Great idea Karen!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

